THE INTERNATIONAL TEST COMMISSION



Dear ITC Members and Friends,

I would like to start by expressing my thanks and those of the Council to Paula Elosua for leading such a great conference in San Sebastian in July. Thanks also to all those who supported her including her University and the Major's office in San Sebastian. Every ITC Conference seems to be better than the last. This poses an increasing challenge for those working on the next conference in Vancouver, 2016 - but I'm sure they are more than up to it. I'll not say more about San Sebastian as there is a separate report on this in TI.

I'd like to use my report this time to say 'thank-you' to people whose terms of office have ended and welcome to those who are just beginning. This also provides an opportunity to describe who is now on Council. This summer Council lost Ron Hambleton, Tom Oakland, Fred Leong and David Foster. However, all have agreed to continue serving and advising the ITC through its committees: Fred Leong joined the ITC Council in 2006 and has been chairing our publications committee. He will continue as the lead editor of the ITC Handbook - which we plan to have completed by 2016. David Foster joined in 2002 and has been influential in getting the ITC to consider more about the way it relates to its membership and how it can involve them more in its work. He led the development of the Test Security Guidelines which were approved by Council for release in July this year. Tom Oakland joined the Council in 1991 and worked with Ron to prepare the first ITC conference in Oxford in 1993. He was President in 1998, serving as a co-opted member from 2002 until he took over as IAAP liaison in 2010. He leaves the Council as his IAAP liaison role comes to an end. T om was instrumental in setting up the ITC as a formal 'not for profit' organization and has been a major contributor to Council policy developments as well as leading some recent guideline developments. Tom has always championed the need for ITC to become more involved in emerging nations. Ron Hambleton holds the record for the longest serving member of the ITC Council. He first joined the Council in 1982 - 32 years ago – a record that is unlikely to be beaten. His best known contribution was leadership of the development of the test adaptation guidelines – the first of a series of well-respected Guidelines from the ITC. He held the positions of President and Secretary as well as serving a term as IAAP liaison. He has always been a support and an inspiration to others on Council and respected for his knowledge and wisdom.

We were delighted to have sufficient interest to require an election for two vacant seats on Council at the General Meeting. I'd like to thank all those who stood and to congratulate Paula Elosua and Steve Sireci on being elected. The General Meeting also endorsed the nominations of Dragos Iliescu as President-Elect, Aletta Odendaal as Secretary-General and Kurt Geisinger as continuing his term as Treasurer. At the first meeting of the new Council following the General Meeting in San Sebastian we agreed on the need to retain Fanny

President: Prof. Dave Bartram, CEB-SHL, The Pavilion, 1 Atwell Place, Thames Ditton, Surrey, KT7 ONE, United Kingdom President-Elect: Prof. Dragos Iliescu, The Psyence Group, 42 Grigore Moisil St., 023796, Romania Secretary-General: Dr. Aletta Odendaal University of Johannesburg, DRing 415, Kingsway Campus, Johannesburg, PO Box

524, Auckland Park, 2006, South Africa

Treasurer: Prof. Kurt F. Geisinger, Buros Center for Testing, 21 Teachers College Hall, The University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, NE 68588-0353

THE INTERNATIONAL TEST COMMISSION



Cheung and Solange Wechsler on Council through co-option and to co-opt Alina von Davier as a new member. We also welcomed Kazuo Shigemasu as the liaison for IUPsyS and Jacques Grégoire, a past ITC President, as the liaison for IAAP.

The ITC Committees are now as follows:

- Strategy and Policy, chaired by myself,
- Research and Guidelines, chaired by Anna Brown,
- Publications and Communications, chaired by Neal Schmitt,
- Membership, Marketing and Involvement, chaired by Dragos Iliescu,
- Conferences, chaired by Aletta Odendaal.
- The chairs of the committees will be providing updates on their work to you through TI.

Prior to our Council Meeting in San Sebastian, we spent time considering the future direction for the ITC. What we agreed on was the need to develop ways of targeting support for capacity building projects such that we can use the ITC's expertise to leverage local potential talent and expertise. We also agreed on the need to review our membership structure to see if it remains the best way of supporting the work of the Commission.

We are also conscious of the need to spend the ITC's money wisely and have become concerned at the increasing costs of annual Council meetings. We agreed as a trial to hold a full Council Meeting biennially at our conference and to have a smaller meeting in the in between years. This will consist of just the Executive, the Committee Chairs and the leader of the group preparing for the next conference. The meeting will be held in London, again for economy reasons, rather than being tied to the biennial EFPA Congress as in the past.

Finally, we plan to update and refresh our website for 2015. If you have any ideas or suggestions for improving the current website please get in touch.

Dave Bartram. President, ITC President@InTestCom.org

President: Prof. Dave Bartram, CEB-SHL, The Pavilion, 1 Atwell Place, Thames Ditton, Surrey, KT7 ONE, United Kingdom President-Elect: Prof. Dragos Iliescu, The Psyence Group, 42 Grigore Moisil St., 023796, Romania

Secretary-General: Dr. Aletta Odendaal University of Johannesburg, DRing 415, Kingsway Campus, Johannesburg, PO Box 524, Auckland Park, 2006, South Africa

Treasurer: Prof. Kurt F. Geisinger, Buros Center for Testing, 21 Teachers College Hall, The University of Nebraska-Lincoln,

Lincoln, NE 68588-0353